Help Community

Notifications
Clear all

If you have a 4 year college degree, will you be overqualified for CNA?

hppygreatful
(@hppygreatful)

I heard that people don't want to hire people who they think is overqualified and might want to move onto another field as soon as they find a job that they are qualified for. However I have a Bachelor of Arts (liberal arts) degree with very little career opportunities so I am worried that they might not hire me based on the fact that I have a degree.

Topic starter Posted : 15/04/2019 7:36 pm
careercrawlers
(@admin)
Member Admin

Hey, congrats on your degree! It's awesome that you have this because it's a real asset. Here's what I think and my opinion is based on my experience.

I think your degree will allow you to move quickly into other areas of nursing. Plus I think starting off as a CNA (certified nursing assistant) is a great way to get your foot in the door. Having this type of education is a great way to show your employer that you have what it takes and that you are serious about the profession. If I were an employer and I know someone had a degree, it shows that they have focus and want to apply themselves even when they move forward. Now it's important to mention NOT every CNA will have a degree and this doesn't mean they are NOT serious but I'm specifically talking in your case. 

If CNA is your starting point and you want to progress than having a degree will definitely open a lot of doors for you. Not to mention, you are use to applying yourself and studying so when it comes time to progress in nursing, you won't have any trouble with the material. Dedication towards the job is something which every field demands, irrespective of your education or your fields of interest. 

ReplyQuote
Posted : 15/04/2019 9:00 pm
jocelyn_0745
(@jocelyn_0745)